Monthly Archives September 2016

TAA and AHA welcome reduction in ‘backpacker tax’ and charges

27 September 2016 Australia’s peak accommodation body, Tourism Accommodation Australia (TAA) and the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) welcomed today’s decision by the Federal Government to reduce the tax on Working Holiday Makers (WHM) from 32.5c to 19c along with a $10 million promotional fund aimed at revitalising the sector, but said the imposition of a $5 increase in the Passenger Movement Charge (PMC) was counter-productive. Under the original proposal, which was scheduled to come into force from 1 July 2016, working holiday makers would have been treated as non-residents and taxed at 32.5% from the first dollar they earned. They
Read More

Categories: Latest News and Media Release.

Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame – Gordon Broderick

The National AHA Awards provides an opportunity for the National Executive, the Board and in fact the entire AHA family to recognise and honour one amongst us who has provided exceptional service to their community, the AHA and/or the Australian licensed hospitality industry. The past awardees of the AHA/Diageo Johnny Walker Hall of Fame have included the leaders, heroes and champions of our great industry. Men, women and families who, whilst pursuing their own commercial objectives, have significantly contributed to the advancement of our industry and our Association. Such is the increasingly complex, demanding and somewhat controversial environment that the
Read More

Categories: Awards, Latest News, and Stories.

AHA National Awards for Excellence – winners announced

Media Release Monday 19 September, 2016 The shining stars of Australia’s hospitality and accommodation industry were honored in a glittering national function held on the Gold Coast in Queensland last night.Over 460 people gathered at the Australian Hotels Association National Awards for Excellence dinner, held at the RACV Royal Pines Resort. Among the highlights was the induction of Melbourne-based liquor industry stalwart, Gordon Broderick, into the Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame. Mr Broderick has filled the role of executive director of the Distilled Spirits Industry Council of Australia since its formation in 1982, and was involved in key industry roles
Read More

Categories: Awards and Media Release.