2016 National Awards for Excellence

Congratulations to all Australia’s leading licensed venues, accommodation hotels and outstanding employees who were finalists at Australian Hotels Association (AHA) 2016 National Awards for Excellence.

The winners from each category were applauded by hotel industry leaders, hoteliers, special guests,and parliamentarians who attended the special evening at RACV Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast to celebrate all aspects of Australia’s vibrant hotel and hospitality sector.

The winners for each category were:

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Metropolitan
Hophaus Bier Bar Grill, Southbank – VIC

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Regional
Berry Springs Tavern, Berry Springs – NT

Best Bistro – Metropolitan
The Moseley Bar & Kitchen, Glenelg – SA

Best Bistro – Regional
Beltana Hotel, Lindisfarne – TAS

Best Deluxe Accommodation
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, Wolgan Valley – NSW

Best Entertainment Venue
The Sheaf, Sydney – NSW

Best Environmental & Energy Efficiency Practice
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, Carlton – VIC

Best Gaming Venue – Metropolitan
Zagame’s Boronia Hotel, Boronia – VIC

Best Gaming Venue – Regional
Kelly’s Motor Club Hotel, Cranbourne – VIC

Best Hotel Accommodation – General Division
The Lucky Hotel, Newcastle – NSW

Best Hotel Bar – Accommodation Division
Zebu Bar + Grill, Rydges Port Macquarie, Port Macquarie – NSW

Best Hotel Group Operator
Pegasus Leisure Group, Caulfield East – VIC

Best Keno Venue
Porters Plainland Hotel, Plainland – QLD

Best Marketed Hotel – Accommodation Division
Grand Hyatt Melbourne, Melbourne – VIC

Best Marketed Hotel – General Division
The Woodcroft Hotel, Woodcroft – SA

Best Meeting & Events Venue
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney – NSW

Best Mid-Range Accommodation
ibis Adelaide, Adelaide – SA

Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Area
Mangrove Hotel, Broome – WA

Best Redeveloped Hotel – Accommodation Division
NEXT Hotel Brisbane, Brisbane – QLD

Best Redeveloped Hotel – General Division joint winner
Beach House Hotel, Hervey Bay – QLD
Collaroy Hotel, Collaroy – NSW

Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division
The Playford, Adelaide – SA

Best Restaurant – Metropolitan
The Railway Hotel, Windsor – VIC

Best Restaurant – Regional
Frogmore Creek, Cambridge – TAS

Best Retail Liquor Outlet
Shoreline Hotel, Howrah – TAS

Best Sporting Entertainment Venue
Crown Sports Bar, Crown Perth, Burswood – WA

Best Suite/Apartment Hotel
East Hotel, Canberra – ACT

Best Superior Accommodation
Spicers Tamarind Retreat, Maleny – QLD

Best TAB Licensed Venue
Kingscliff Beach Hotel, Kingscliff – NSW

Best Tourism Initiative
Curtin Springs, Alice Springs – NT

Chef of the Year
Nikhil Jain, National Convention Centre, Canberra – ACT

Employee Excellence in Service – Accommodation Division joint winner
Donna Musarella, Crown Towers, Melbourne – VIC
Anura Yapa, Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, The Rocks – NSW

Employee Excellence in Service – General Division
Lee Cleal, Woolshed Pub, Docklands – VIC

Front of House Employee of the Year – Accommodation Division
Jonathan Fambart, Park Hyatt Sydney, The Rocks – NSW

Front of House Employee of the Year – General Division
Kurtis Bosley, Collaroy Hotel, Collaroy – NSW

Hotel Industry Rising Star joint winner
Annabelle Gibney, Accor Hotels & Resorts, Melbourne – VIC
Drew Harry, Western Hotel, Ballarat – VIC
Michael Strom, The Gate Bar and Bistro, Perth – WA

Outstanding Achievement in Training
Voyages Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara – NT

Outstanding Community Service & Achievement
Belrose Hotel, Belrose – NSW

Outstanding Community Service & Achievement
Treasury Casino & Hotel, Brisbane City – QLD

Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division
Crown Towers, Melbourne – VIC

Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan
Rosstown Hotel, Carnegie – VIC

Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional
Sandstone Point Hotel, Sandstone Point – QLD