Awards for Excellence

The 2014 AHA National Awards for Excellence were held on Monday
the 15th September at Jupiter’s Casino on the Gold Coast.

Congratulations to all Australia’s leading licensed venues, accommodation hotels and outstanding employees who were finalists at Australian Hotels Association (AHA) 2014 National Awards for Excellence.

The winners from each category were applauded by hotel industry leaders, hoteliers, special guests,and parliamentarians who attended the special evening at Jupiter’s Casino on the Gold Coast to celebrate all aspects of Australia’s vibrant hotel and hospitality sector.

The winners for each category were:

1-Best Bar Presentation & Service – Metropolitan: The Classroom – W.A.
Sponsored by Carlton & United Breweries.

2-Best Bar Presentation & Service – Regional: QT Canberra (Lucky’s) – ACT.
Sponsored by Australian Liquor Marketers.

3-Best Bistro – Metropolitan: Hotel Pennant Hills – NSW.
Sponsored by Treasury Wine Estates.

4-Best Bistro – Regional: The Star Hotel Sale – VIC
Sponsored by AON.

5-Best Entertainment Venue: Eaton’s Hill Hotel & Function Centre – QLD.
Sponsored by APRA.

6-Best Environmental & Energy Efficiency Practice: The Lakes Resort Hotel – S.A.
Sponsored by the Australian Government.

7-Best Gaming Venue – Regional: The Foundry Hotel Complex – VIC.
Sonsored by Tabcorp.

8-Best Gaming Venue – Metropolitan: The Cove – VIC.
Sponsored by Aristocrat.

9-Best Keno Venue: Grandview Hotel – QLD.
Sponsored by Tabcorp.

10-Best Restaurant – Metropolitan: Establishment (Est) – NSW.
Sponsored by Treasury Wine Estates.

11-Best Tourism Initiative: National Wine Centre – S.A.
Sponsored by Tourism Australia.

12-Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Facility: Republic – S.A.
Sponsored by British American Tobacco.

13-Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division: Henry’s Restaurant – TAS.
Sponsored by Bite Size.

14-Best Redeveloped Hotel – Accommodation Division: Crown Metrpol Perth W.A.
Sponsored by Lion.

15-Best Marketed Hotel – Accommodation Division: InterContinental Adelaide – S.A.
Sponsored by JVG Sound, Lighting and Visual.

16-Best Pub-Style Accommodation: Rudd’s Pub – QLD
Sponsored by Coopers.

17-Best Mid-Range Accommodation: Atura Blacktown – NSW
Sponsored by Coopers.

18-Best Resort-Style Accommodation: Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa – NSW
Sponsored by Qantas.

19-Best Suite/Apartment Hotel: East Hotel – ACT.
Sponsored by HOSTPLUS.

20-Best Superior Accommodation: Islington Hotel – TAS.
Sponsored by Dreamweavers.

21-Best Deluxe Accommodation: Park Hyatt Sydney – NSW.
Sponsored by HOSTPLUS.

22-Outstanding Community Service & Achievement: Melbourne Marriott Hotel – VIC, & Murphys Irish Pub – W.A.
Sponsored by AHA National.

23-Best Sporting Entertainment Venue: Arkaba Hotel – S.A.
Sponsored by Fox Sports

24-Best Restaurant – Regional: Spicers Clovelly Estate (The Long Apron) – QLD.
Sponsored by ALM.

25-Best Meeting and Events Venue: Hotel Realm – ACT.
Sponsored by Dreamweavers.

26-Best Retail Liquor Outlet: Gasworks 9/11 – TAS.
Sponsored by Diageo.

27-Best Redeveloped Hotel – General Division: American Hotel – VIC.
Sponsored by Bally Technologies.

28-Best TAB Licensed Venue: Quakers Inn – NSW.
Sponsored by Tabcorp.

29-Bartender of the Year: Palmer & Co. (Matt Fitzgerald) – NSW.
Sponsored by HOSTPLUS.

30-Chef of the Year: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa (Andrew Fraser) – QLD, & The Star (Jason Alcock) – NSW.
Sponsored by HOSTPLUS.

31-Front of House Employee of the Year: Crowne Plaza Melbourne (Kore Ormsby) – VIC
Sponsored by HOSTPLUS.

32-Employee Excellence in Service: The Cove (Dan McAlpine) – VIC.
Sponsored by HOSTPLUS.

33-Outstanding Achievement in Training: Emporium Hotel – QLD.
Sponsored by Coca Cola Amatil.

34-Hotel Industry Rising Star: Beachfront Hotel  (Bradie Mercer) – N.T, & Sofitel Melbourne on Collins (Michael Brennan) – VIC.
Sponsored by ME Bank

35-Best Marketed Hotel – General Division: Monsoons – N.T.
Sponsored by Asahi Premium Beverages.

36-Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional: American Hotel – VIC.
Sponsored by Carlton & United Breweries.

37-Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division: Crown Metrpol Perth – W.A.
Sponsored by Lion.

38-Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan: Ivy (Sydney) – NSW.
Sponsored by Lion.

39-Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame: Peter Burnett – VIC, & Peter Hurley – S.A.
Sponsored by Diageo.