Australian Hotels Association 2014 National Awards for Excellence

The elite of Australia’s hospitality and accommodation industry were honoured in a glittering nationwide function held on the Gold Coast in Queensland last night.

Among the highlights were the induction of industry stalwarts in Victoria’s Peter Burnett and South Australia’s Peter Hurley into the Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame.

Both men have been long-recognised leaders in their respective states but have also made huge contributions at a national level, with Mr Burnett being the current AHA national president.

Over 450 people, representing hotel and accommodation venues from right around the country, were present at the annual awards night, held at Jupiter’s Casino.

The awards feature both venue and individual awards, with the stars in various industry vocations across the industry recognised.

The Overall Hotel of the Year at a metropolitan level went to the Ivy in Sydney, while at a regional national level, it was The American Hotel in the Victorian Murray River town of Echuca.

Establishment in Sydney was crowned the Best Restaurant (Metropolitan) while the best regional restaurant went to The Long Apron at Spicers Clovelly Estate in Montville, Queensland.

Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa got the nod for the Best Resort Style Accommodation, while, the Overall Hotel of the Year (Accommodation division) went to the Crown Metropol in Perth.

The National Wine Centre in Adelaide was rewarded for its effort in tourism promotion, while the Best Pub Style accommodation went to Rudd’s Pub in the tiny town of Nobby in regional Queensland.

And in the Outstanding Community Service and Achievement section, there were joint winners from opposite ends of the spectrum, with both the Marriott Hotel in Melbourne and Murphy’s Irish Pub In Mandurah winning recognition.

The prestigious Overall Chef of the Year was shared between Andrew Fraser from the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort and Spa and Jason Alcock from, The Star In NSW Hotel Industry Rising Star winners were Bradie Mercer from Beachfront Hotel Darwin and Michael Brennan from Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

A full list of winner’s s featured here.

For further information contact Stephen Ferguson on 0412 654 000.