2013 Awards

Australia’s leading licensed venues, accommodation hotels and outstanding employees have been applauded at the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) 2013 National Awards for Excellence in Canberra tonight.

Held in the nation’s capital for the first time to celebrate Canberra’s Centenary, more than 450 hotel industry leaders, hoteliers, special guests, diplomats and parliamentarians attended the annual Awards event at Hotel Realm to celebrate all aspects of Australia’s vibrant hotel and hospitality sector

Top honours this year went to the following venues:

  • The Lion Hotel (North Adelaide SA) – Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan ,
  • Park Hyatt Sydney (Sydney NSW) – Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division
  • Park Avenue Hotel Motel (North Rockhampton QLD) – Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional.
  • Emerald Springs Roadhouse (NT) – Outstanding Community Service & Achievement
  • Parmelia Hilton Perth (WA) – Outstanding Achievement in Training.

AHA National Chief Executive Officer Des Crowe said the prestigious Awards hailed hotels and restaurants that demonstrated outstanding services, accommodation, entertainment, food and beverage.

“The 162 national finalists were winners of their respective AHA State and Territory awards level. Winning a national AHA award is an outstanding achievement – and a tribute to the hard work and dedication of these hotels and restaurants,” Mr Crowe said.
“Richard Deery from the Story Bridge Hotel in Brisbane was inducted into the AHA Hall of Fame, which was another major highlight recognising the contribution of an industry leader.”

The AHA also recognised the contributions made to the hotel industry by hard working employees including:

  • Joint Winner 2013 Hotel Industry Rising Star Award – Justin Twartz from the Morphett Arms Hotel in Adelaide and Timothy Hunt at Park Hyatt Sydney.
  • Local Canberra employee Dixie Addison-Rolfe from the Diamant Hotel was a popular winner of the Front of House Employee of the Year.
  • Jason Williams from The Loft was named Bartender of the Year.